Home > My Thoughts > One Modesty Standard?

One Modesty Standard?


What is modesty? Is it loose pants or skirts? Does it depend on the person or is there only ” one modesty standard “? This is something I’ve been contemplating for a long time now.

It would require a somewhat extensive bible study, and the comparing of verses. It would be good, though, to start in 1 Corinthians, in my opinion.

Modesty for me? Non provocative clothing like loose skirts, shirts, and dresses.

The Amish way of life has interested me for a while. Their simplicity and their modest dress is very appealing, except as far as I know they believe that Sunday is the Sabbath, and not the Saturday as the Sabbath. I’ve also admired their prayer caps.

Sadly I have been unable to attend my SDA church, for a number of reasons. First, it’s out of town. Secondly, gas prices have skyrocketed. And three, getting certain people in this family can be quite difficult. So sometimes I attend my friend’s Baptist church on Sundays.

Anyway, back to the modesty subject, I believe every one person ( especially the women ) need to do a bible study for themselves on modesty, or a whole group of women maybe! Then they could discuss between themselves particular verses and how they’ve interperted the verses.

I know I need to do some more Bible study on the subject of modesty. But meanwhile, study the Bible for yourselves, and see what you can find.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

