Home > My Thoughts > Immodesty Now Modest?

Immodesty Now Modest?


I’m truly embarrassed to see what is shown and spoken about on TV. My mom is very selective with what I and my three other siblings watch, but sometimes you do see things ( like immodest bathing suits, dresses, etc. )

If any of you have seen a movie called 13 Going On 30 ( not an appropiate movie, language and partial nudity, ick. ), you’ve probably seen the main character, Jenna Rink, go out to a meeting at the company she works at in her skimpy nightgown! The thing is, it’s perfectly ” acceptable ” to the people around her!

Anyway, random example of immodesty becoming acceptable.

It’s a fav thing of mine to blog about ( immodesty becoming acceptable, at least to some people. ) because it’s so rampant nowadays than it was 100 or 50 years ago. Skinny jeans, shirts with plunging necklines, skirts showing..well, a whole lot that doesn’t need to be seen.

I used to be one of those skinny jean wearing people. I hated baggy jeans because I thought they made me look fat ( which wasn’t necessarily true. ). Unfortunately, you can ” grow out ” of skinny jeans real fast, meaning they get tight and accenuate things that don’t need to be. Luckily, my mom noticed my jeans getting tight and said something about them. My modesty conversion started around that time. đŸ™‚

I wanted to be attractive, but you don’t need or have to be immodest to be ” attractive “.

Anyway, some girls/teens/women aren’t as feminine today as they were 50 years ago. I believe feminity is important, as well as modesty. Also, dance can still be a modest thing but they’ve sexualized it so much now. ( My dance teachers are good about not making us look like streetwalkers, or making us not dance provocatively. )

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

